jump to navigation

The Pillars of the Earth is Coming – Comments and Observations July 21, 2010

Posted by rwf1954 in historical fiction, Ken Follette, medieval period, television commentary, The Pillars of the Earth.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

(Richard Warren Field wrote the award-winning novel,
The Swords of Faith. Read why this book will make a great movie.)

The mini-series based on Ken Follette’s The Pillars of Earth starts on July 23rd. For those fascinated with this time period in history (Follette’s epic novel takes place between 1123 and 1174), this offers us a chance to experience great entertainment based on a best-selling book, produced by top-flight film-makers and performers. For those of us who write about this period, “The Pillars of Earth” mini-series is not only entertainment, but a chance to analyze and comment, to praise and quibble, to immerse ourselves in this period from a fresh angle, with the popular culture joining us while the mini-series takes center stage.

I will post my comments at this blog, Saturday morning after each of the six Friday broadcasts. My familiarity with the history of this period starts just after this novel ends. (My novel, just released earlier this month is The Swords of Faith, about the Third Crusade, the confrontation between Richard the Lionheart and Saladin). I will offer only passing comments on the history as depicted in the book and mini-series. The history depicted in the book, as I understand it,  appears to be accurate. (I enthusiastically invite more detailed comments from those more familiar with the history.) Most of the story revolves around fictional characters, and fictional characters are the main characters. My comments will discuss the story, how the mini-series depicts the book, and anything else that occurs to me!

The book is divided into six parts, eighteen chapters. The chapters are lengthy—the book is lengthy, just over 400,000 words. (I will refer to the chapters, not the page numbers as I comment on the book, as different readers will have different editions of The Pillars of Earth.) I have completed a detailed synopsis of The Pillars of the Earth, now posted at my website.

Next post will be the morning of the 24th!

The Pillars of the Earth (paperback)

The Pillars of the Earth (paperback)

The Pillars of the Earth (deluxe edition/Oprah’s Book Club)

The Pillars of the Earth (deluxe edition/Oprah’s Book Club)

The Pillars of the Earth (hardcover)

The Pillars of the Earth (hardcover)

Comments»

1. World Wide News Flash - July 23, 2010

The Pillars of the Earth is Coming ? Comments and Observations…

I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

2. web page - September 25, 2013

Heya! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone 4!
Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all
your posts! Keep up the outstanding work!


Leave a comment